Service configuration error – Event ID 5000 (ioibmurhynrxkw0zxkyrvfn0boyyufow)

I was recently bugged by an error in a Windows Service I was developing that, when deployed an started, immediately stopped. My log files showed nothing, which suggested that the exception was happening before my logging and exception handlers started.

Examining the Application Event Log, I found the following error:

Event Type: ErrorEvent
Source: .NET Runtime 2.0 Error Reporting
Event Category: None
Event ID: 5000
Date: 26/09/2007
Time: 20:17:53
User: N/A
Computer: theDeploymentServer
Description:
EventType clr20r3, P1 theService.exe, P2 1.0.0.0, P3 46fa9f5d, P4 system.configuration, P5 2.0.0.0, P6 4333ae78, P7 1a2, P8 136, P9 ioibmurhynrxkw0zxkyrvfn0boyyufow, P10 NIL.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Not the most helpful of errors, but I could see the system.configuration entry, so I started with the theService.exe.config file, emptying the file of any meaningful data and adding it back in piece by piece until I recreated the error.

The error occurred on the following appSetting entry:

<add key="PluginsFolder" value="C:\Program Files (x86)\A&B\theService\" />

I realised that the appSetting contained an ampersand (&) witin its value, I realised that ampersand is a reserved character in XML and so the .NET configuration parser couldn’t validate the .config file.

To resolve this I replaced the ampersand with its XML-compliant counterpart (&amp;), so the key now read:

<add key="PluginsFolder" value="C:\Program Files (x86)\A&amp;B Company\theService\" />

Granted this looks a little weird but it solved the problem!

6 Responses to “Service configuration error – Event ID 5000 (ioibmurhynrxkw0zxkyrvfn0boyyufow)”

  1. Dave Says:

    Thanks! This solved my issue!

  2. Davide Says:

    Thanks! This solved my issue too!!!

  3. J Says:

    I had a similar error except that P4 was System.Xml, this article pointed me towards the config file, and I found that the XML was missing a closing Element Tag.

  4. Sujith Says:

    Hi, Thanks for Sharing. Help me in finding the issue and saved the time for me

  5. David Says:

    Hi,

    I have got a below error when I tried to open/launch my C# windows application in the touch panel system(Windows Embedded).

    EventType clr20r3, P1 .exe, P2 2.2.0.0, P3 527a0217, P4 system.configuration, P5 2.0.0.0, P6 4889de74, P7 9d, P8 48, P9 ioibmurhynrxkw0zxkyrvfn0boyyufow

    I have installed and can able to open the same application in other system(Windows Embedded, 7 and XP).

    The .net framework 3.5 sp1 is installed in my machine.
    pls help to sort the issue

    • jimbobmcgee Says:

      Don’t know about Windows Embedded but, if it is the same issue as mine, check your app.config file for errant ampersands — these need to be encoded to &amp; in the XML file.

Leave a Reply

