Reinstating the GUI login page

Having just completed a 5-hour install process I, spent another two hours trying to fix up an issue I had with the login screen.

Having messed about with the options on the Login Screen, I inadvertently configured the X Server to try to login to a XDMCP server, by setting the startup server to Chooser.

When I rebooted, I couldn’t find any XDMCP servers, so I couldn’t login. I thought I’d try booting to a terminal mode, only to find that the kboot loader loaded Fedora if I left the keyboard idle for too long (about three seconds0).

Eventually I found out that I could get to a terminal from the XDMCP screen by pressing CTRL+ALT+F1. After that, I could log in as root and edit the GDM config file with VIM:
vi /etc/gdm/custom.conf
allowed me to edit the file, so I scrolled down to the [servers] section and changed the entry from:

[servers]
0=Chooser

to:

[servers]
0=Standard

After rebooting, the regular login screen was displayed.

I’ve learned two things from this:

  1. CTRL+ALT+F1 opens a terminal from the login screen
  2. I’m not going to mess with the startup screen again (I don’t even know what an XDMCP server is, let alone why I might want one!)
One Response to “Reinstating the GUI login page”

  1. Patrick O'Sullivan Says:

    Hi

    Thanks for the useful tip as I had exactly the same problem and for a simple change to the gdm lost many hours on the internet to find the necessary changes to the gdm config file

    Thank you

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

